top of page

Kim 
Albright

Réalisatrice

Kim Albright est une réalisatrice canadienne, britannique et philippine primée. Elle a étudié l'architecture à Montréal, s'est installée à Londres et a participé au programme Upshot du British Film Institute (BFI) qui accueille «les artistes émergents les plus stimulant du cinéma britannique». Ses courts métrages ont été primés et ont concouru dans le monde entier, notamment au festival du film Encounters, qui est qualifié pour les BAFTA, à celui du film de Londres du BFI et du film indépendant britannique. Elle a participé au Directors Lab du Centre canadien du film, au Director's Program for Women de l'Académie canadienne et au programme Story & Leadership de Women In the Director's Chair (WIDC). Elle a également reçu le Talent Development Award de CBC Films et le Feature Film Award de WIDC.

Madeleine
Davis

Productrice

Madeleine est une productrice canadienne primée. Ses plus récentes production narratives incluent le long métrage With Love and a Major Organ (2023) et le court métrage Dhoulpa (2022), récemment projeté au VIFF et au Festival du Nouveau Cinéma, où il a remporté le Prix du Jury. Ses projets antérieurs ont été projetés au SXSW, au TIFF et au VIFF et ont été reconnus par les Juno Awards, Vimeo Staff Picks, le Prism Prize, Director's Library et les UKMVA Awards.

Julia
Lederer

Scénariste

Julia est une écrivaine de renommée internationale. En tant qu'auteure dramatique, son travail a été produit partout en Amérique du Nord et récemment à Paris. La pièce de théâtre, With Love and a Major Organ a été nominée pour la « Meilleure production » par le LA Drama Critics Circle (2017) et sur Theatre By Numbers « Top 5 des pièces de théâtre à Chicago » (2016). Julia est une ancienne élève du Screenwriters Lab du Whistler Film Festival et a été présélectionnée pour Sundance Labs. Ses films ont été projetés au TIFF, à Palm Springs, au LA Comedy Shorts Festival, au Cinequest Film Festival et au Canadian Film Fest (primé).

Casting et
équipe technique

Casting principal

Anna
Maguire

Anna est une cinéaste et actrice anglo-canadienne qui a récemment joué le rôle principal dans Violation (TIFF 2020, Sundance 2021, SXSW 2021) et peut être vu dans le film de Kim Nguyen The Hummingbird Project (TIFF 2018). Elle joue dans la nouvelle série télévisée québécoise; L'air d'aller réalisé par Sarah Pellerin (Lauréate Cannes Séries 2023). Elle joue également un rôle dans le prochain long métrage de Simon Lavoie Se fondre.

Son travail de réalisatrice a été nominé pour des prix dans des festivals tels que le TIFF, Palm Springs, PÖFF Black Nights et le BFI London Film Festival et a été projeté à la Tate Modern. Son premier long métrage en tant que scénariste/réalisatrice; An Empty Space a été sélectionné pour participer au programme de développement Less is More du Groupe Ouest (2021) et au programme de développement précoce de BFI NETWORK (2019).

Hamza
Haq

Nommé l'une des étoiles montantes du Canada par The Hollywood Reporter en 2017, Hamza Haq incarne Bashir « Bash » Hamed dans une série dramatique médicale de CTV, Transplant, pour lequel il a remporté le prix Écrans canadiens 2021 du meilleur acteur principal.

 

En 2018, Hamza est apparu aux côtés de William Shatner et Russell Peters dans le rôle des jumeaux Amal et Gopal dans la mini-série de CTV, Indian Detective, et a été acclamé par la critique avec une nomination aux Prix Écrans canadiens 2018 pour la meilleure performance invitée pour son rôle de Raza Ali dans la série dramatique de la CBC, This Life. Il apparaît face à Margaret Qualley dans Mon année Salinger qui a ouvert le 70e Festival international du film de Berlin en février 2020, et Delia's Gone avec Marisa Tomei et Stephan James.

 

En 2020, Hamza a été honoré en tant qu'étoile de l'année par Playback et a été récipiendaire du Stop 25 Canadian Immigrant Awards de RBC. Il est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès arts en études cinématographiques avec une mineure en droit de l'Université Carleton.

Veena
Sood

Veena Sood est une actrice primée, connue pour sa polyvalence au théâtre, au cinéma, à la télévision et dans d'autres domaines. improvisation. Veena a été une série régulière dans de nombreuses émissions de télévision, jouant des rôles principaux dans des longs métrages. Elle a également reçu des honneurs pour l'ensemble de son travail et de son travail. contributions à la communauté artistique au fil des années. Actuellement, vous pouvez voir Veena dans la série CTV Children Ruin Everything, la série télévisée de CBC Allegiance, les longs métrages With Love and A Major Organ, Wedding Season (Netflix), et Corner Office (avec Jon Hamm). Veena est également une actrice de voix off très active, que l'on retrouve dans les animations Deepa & Anoop, 16 Hudson, Corner Gas Animated et le très attendu Super Team Canada. Veena est une adepte des activités de plein air: randonnée, vélo, patinage et tout ce qui touche au plein air.

www.veenasood.com

Donna
Bénédicte

Donna Benedicto est une actrice et chanteuse philippino-canadienne née et élevée à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Ayant grandi au sein d'une minorité ethnique, Donna a décidé de cesser de chanter à temps plein pour se consacrer au théâtre en 2013, car elle a constaté une lacune dans la représentation asiatique. Depuis, elle est devenue la première Philippine à jouer le rôle principal dans de nombreux téléfilms, dont Farmer Seeking Love d'Incendo. Elle a également été invitée à participer à la populaire série The Good Doctor de NBC et a obtenu des rôles récurrents dans Supergirl de CW et A Million Little Things sur ABC. En plus d'être actrice, Donna travaille actuellement sur son premier album original et a récemment sorti deux singles qui apparaissent dans le film original Wrath de Lifetime. Elle est également une passionnée de boxe et de kickboxing, s'étant entraînée pendant quatre ans dans divers gymnases MMA de la région métropolitaine de Vancouver.

Argavan
Jenati

Arghavan Jenati est une actrice irano-canadienne basée à Vancouver. Elle travaille activement dans les domaines du cinéma, de la télévision et du théâtre partout au Canada depuis plus de 10 ans. En tant qu'improvisatrice et comédienne, elle a joué pour Just For Laughs, JFL Comedy Showcase & régulièrement au Hero Show.  Parmi les films et les émissions télévisées auxquelles elle a participé, citons : With Love and a Major Organ (première à SXSW, prix WIDC Feature Film, prix CBC Films Development), Honor Society (Paramount+), Fresh (Hulu), Turner & Hooch (Disney+), Heart Of The Matter (Hallmark), A Million Little Things (ABC), Big Sky (ABC), Girlfriends Guide To Divorce (Bravo), Medical Drama (TIFF, No Budge), This Is That (CBC).

Laara
Sadiq

Laara Sadiq est une actrice primée avec plus de 30 ans d'expérience dans le théâtre, le cinéma, la télévision et le doublage. Parmi ses rôles à la télévision et au cinéma, citons : Send the Rain, Hardy Boys, Chesapeake Shores, Virgin River, Resident Alien, Yellowjackets, Transcendence, Charmed, Maid, Twelve Hours ainsi que The In Between, Search and Destroy, Colony, The Crossing, The Arrangement, Eyewitness, The Code, The Strain, The Baroness Von Sketch Show, Rogue, Killjoys, Hemlock Grove, Degrassi, Michael Tuesdays and Thursdays, Special Correspondents, Happily Ever After et Excited.

Lynda
Boyd

Lynda Boyd est une actrice/chanteuse primée possédant une vaste expérience dans les domaines du théâtre, de la musique, du cinéma et de la télévision. Elle a notamment joué dans Fast & Furious 3 : Tokyo Drift, She's The Man, I Spy avec Owen Wilson, On Thin Ice avec Diane Keaton, An Unfinished Life avec Jennifer Lopez et The Age Of Adaline, dans lequel elle incarne la meilleure amie de Blake Lively. Lynda a joué Rose Doyle pendant six saisons dans la série à succès de CBC Republic Of Doyle, ce qui lui a valu sa troisième nomination aux Screenies. Plus récemment, on a pu la voir dans le rôle de "Lilly", une favorite des fans dans l'énorme succès de Netflix, Virgin River. Elle a également joué dans Tin Star d'Amazon, aux côtés de Tim Roth, et a été invitée dans E.R., The "L" Word, Cold Case et Supernatural.

Équipe technique

Lori Lozinski &
Carole Whiteman

Producteurs exécutifs

Léonard Harim

Tony Zhou

Megan MacAulay

Directeur de la photographie

Monteur

Concepteur de production

Matt Drake

Concepteur sonore

Jeremy Wallace Maclean

Compositeur

Nicole Swan

Costumière

bottom of page

top of page

Kim 
Albright

Director

Kim is an award winning Canadian-British-Filipina director. She featured on the British Film Institute (BFI) Upshot Program, showcasing "the most exciting emerging UK filmmaking talent". Her shorts have won awards and competed worldwide, including at the BAFTA-qualifying Encounters Film Festival, the BFI London Film Festival and the British Independent Film Festival. She is an alumna of the Canadian Film Centre Director’s Lab, the Canadian Academy Director's Program for Women, and Women In the Director's Chair (WIDC) Story & Leadership, and a recipient of the CBC Films WIDC Talent Development Award and the WIDC Feature Film Award.

Madeleine 
Davis

Producer

Madeleine is an award-winning Canadian producer. Her recent narrative producing credits include the feature film With Love and a Major Organ (2023) and the short film Dhulpa (2022), which has recently screened at VIFF and Festival du Nouveau Cinema, where it won the Jury Prize. Past work has screened at SXSW, TIFF, and VIFF and been recognized by the Juno Awards, Vimeo Staff Picks, the Prism Prize, Director’s Library and the UKMVA Awards. 

Julia
Lederer

Writer

Julia is an internationally acclaimed writer. As a playwright, her work has been produced across North America and recently in Paris. As a play, With Love and a Major Organ was nominated for "Best Production" by the LA Drama Critics Circle (2017), and on Theatre By Numbers "Top 5 plays in Chicago" (2016). Julia is an alumna of Whistler Film Festival's Screenwriters Lab, and has been short-listed for Sundance Labs. Her films have screened at TIFF, Palm Springs, LA Comedy Shorts Festival, Cinequest Film Festival and Canadian Film Fest (award-winner).

Cast & Crew

Principal Cast

Anna
Maguire

Anna is British/Canadian filmmaker and actor who recently played a lead in Violation (TIFF 2020, Sundance 2021, SXSW 2021) and can be seen in Kim Nguyen’s The Hummingbird Project (TIFF 2018). She features in the new Québec TV series; L’air d'aller directed by Sarah Pellerin (Cannes Series Winner 2023). She also performs a role in Simon Lavoie’s upcoming feature Se fondre.

Her directorial work has been nominated for awards at festivals such as TIFF, Palm Springs, PÖFF Black Nights and the BFI London Film Festival and has been shown at The Tate Modern. Her first feature as a writer/director; An Empty Space was selected to take part in Le Groupe Ouest’s Less is More development programme (2021) and BFI NETWORK’s early development programme (2019).

Hamza
Haq

Named one of Canada's Rising Stars by The Hollywood Reporter in 2017, Hamza Haq stars as Bashir "Bash" Hamed in CTV medical drama Transplant for which he earned a 2021 Canadian Screen Award win for Best Lead Actor. 

 

In 2018, Hamza appeared alongside William Shatner and Russell Peters as twins Amal and Gopal in the CTV mini-series Indian Detective, and earned critical acclaim with a 2018 Canadian Screen Award nomination for Best Guest Performance for his role as Raza Ali in the CBC drama This Life. He appears opposite Margaret Qualley in My Salinger Year which opened the 70th Berlin International Film Festival in February 2020, and in Delia's Gone with Marisa Tomei and Stephan James.

 

In 2020, Hamza was honoured as Playback's Breakout Star of the Year, and was a recipient of RBC'stop 25 Canadian Immigrant Awards. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Film Studies with a minor in Law from Carleton University.

Veena
Sood

Veena Sood is an award-winning actress, known for her versatility in theatre, film, television, & improv. Veena has been a series regular on numerous TV shows, leading roles in feature films. She’s also been awarded honors for her body of work & contributions to the artistic community over the years. Currently, you can see Veena in the CTV series Children Ruin Everything, the CBC TV series Allegiance, the feature films With Love & A Major Organ, Wedding Season (Netflix), & Corner Office (starring Jon Hamm). Veena is also a busy voice-over actor featured in the animations Deepa & Anoop, 16 Hudson, Corner Gas Animated, & the upcoming Super Team Canada. Veena is an outdoor enthusiast; hiking, biking, skating, & all things outdoorsy. www.veenasood.com

Donna
Benedicto

Donna Benedicto is a Filipina Canadian actress and singer born and raised in Vancouver, BC. Growing up as an ethnic minority, Donna decided to make a switch from full-time singing to pursue acting in 2013 because she saw a gap in Asian representation. Since then, she has gone on to become the first Filipina lead in multiple TV movies, including Incendo's Farmer Seeking Love, as well as guest starring on NBC's The Good Doctor, and booking recurring roles on CW's Supergirl and ABC's A Million Little Things. In addition to acting, Donna is currently working on her first original album and recently released two singles that appear in the Lifetime original movie Wrath. She is also an avid boxer and kickboxer, having trained for 4 years at various MMA gyms in metro Vancouver.

Arghavan
Jenati

Arghavan Jenati is an Iranian-Canadian actress based in Vancouver. She has worked consistently in Film/TV and Theatre across Canada for over 10 years. As an improviser and comedian, she has performed for Just For Laughs, JFL Comedy Showcase & regularly at The Hero Show.  Select Film & TV credits include: With Love and a Major Organ (SXSW premiere, WIDC Feature Film award, CBC Films Development Award) Honor Society (Paramount+), Fresh (Hulu), Turner & Hooch (Disney+), Heart Of The Matter (Hallmark), A Million Little Things (ABC), Big Sky (ABC), Girlfriends Guide To Divorce (Bravo), Medical Drama (TIFF, No Budge), This Is That (CBC).

Laara
Sadiq

Laara Sadiq is an award-winning actor with over 30 years of experience in theatre, film, television and voice-over across Turtle Island.  Selected TV and Film credits include Send the Rain, Hardy Boys, Chesapeake Shores, Virgin River, Resident Alien, Yellowjackets, Transcendence, Charmed, Maid, Twelve Hours as well as The In Between, Search and Destroy, Colony, The Crossing, The Arrangement, Eyewitness, The Code, The StrainThe Baroness Von Sketch Show, Rogue, Killjoys, Hemlock Grove, Degrassi, Michael Tuesdays and Thursdays,  Special Correspondents, Happily Ever After and Excited.

Lynda
Boyd

Lynda Boyd is an award-winning actor/singer with an extensive background in theatre, music, film and television. Selected credits include Fast & Furious 3: Tokyo Drift, She’s The Man, I Spy starring opposite Owen Wilson, On Thin Ice starring opposite Diane Keaton, An Unfinished Life opposite Jennifer Lopez and The Age Of Adaline, playing Blake Lively’s bff. Lynda starred in the CBC hit Republic Of Doyle for six seasons playing Rose Doyle, garnering her 3rd Screenie nomination. Most recently she can be seen as “Lilly”, a fan favourite on Netflix’s massive hit Virgin River. Other credits include Amazon’s Tin Star, opposite Tim Roth and guest star roles on E.R., The “L” Word, Cold Case and Supernatural.

Crew

Lori Lozinski &
Carol Whiteman

Executive Producers

Leonardo Harim

Tony Zhou

Megan MacAulay

Cinematographer

Editor

Production Designer

Matt Drake

Sound Designer

Jeremy Wallace Maclean

Composer

Nicole Swan

Costume Designer

bottom of page